Free shipping on orders over $100 in the U.S.
Cart 0

How to Classify Pu-erh Teas (Part Three)

In Part One and Part Two of this blog series, we discussed several methods for classifying Pu-erh tea. Now we'd like to share with you two additional methods of Pu-erh tea classification.

Fifth Method: Classifying Pu-erh teas according to storage method

Dry Storage Pu-erh: These Pu-erh teas are stored in a dry and clean warehouse with good ventilation to naturally ferment the tea.  Premium Pu-erh teas have usually been in storage for ten to twenty years.

Wet Storage Pu-erh: These Pu-erh teas are usually stored in a moist environment such as a basement or cellar to expedite their fermentation. However, tea in wet storage tends to develop mold, which of course can cause many health problems. Therefore, Denong Tea does not recommend keeping Pu-erh in wet storage.

Sixth Method: Classifying Pu-erh teas according to mountains and geographic regions

One way to divide up the Pu-erh tea mountains is by region: Lincang, Pu’erh or Xishuangbana.

The Pu-erh tea mountains can also be divided by the Lancang River. To the east of the Lancang River lies 6 old Pu-erh tea mountains: Youle, Gedeng, Yibang, Mangzhi, Manzhuan, and Mansa, which is now the Yiwu region. Lying to the west of  the Lancang River are the new Pu-erh tea mountains: Nannuo, Nanqiao, Mengsong, Jingmai, Bulang, Bada.

This concludes our series on how to classify Pu-erh tea. Next week, we’ll go more in depth about the various mountains where Pu-erh tea grows. In the meantime, please let us know if you any other questions at

Older Post Newer Post

Leave a comment

Please note, comments must be approved before they are published